# Minutes of the second meeting of the State Wetlands Authority held on 20<sup>th</sup> December, 2019 in the Chief Secretary's Conference Room, Nabanna

Members present:

- 1. Prof. (Dr.) Soumen Kumar Mahapatra, Hon'ble Minister-in-Charge, Environment Department Chairperson
- 2. Shri Rajiva Sinha, Chief Secretary Vice Chairperson
- 3. Shri Prabhat Kumar Mishra, Principal Secretary, Environment Department and Water Resources Investigation and Development Department – Member Secretary
- 4. Shri S. Kishore, Additional Chief Secretary, Fisheries Department Member
- Shri Subrata Gupta, Principal Secretary, Urban Development & Municipal Affairs Department Member
- 6. Shri Manoj Pant, Principal Secretary, Land & Land Reforms Department Member
- 7. Shri Barun Kumar Ray, Principal Secretary, Science & Technology Department
- 8. Smt. Nandini Chakraborty, Principal Secretary, Tourism Department
- 9. Shri Ravi Kant Sinha, Chief Wildlife Warden, West Bengal
- 10. Dr. Rajesh Kumar, Member Secretary, West Bengal Pollution Control Board
- 11. Prof. Arunabha Majumder
- 12. Dr. Pratap Kumar Mukhopadhay
- 13. Prof. Basab Chaudhuri
- 14. Shri Niraj Singhal, Chief Environment Officer, Environment Department
- 15. Shri Dibyendu Das, Special Secretary, Panchanyats and Rural Development Department.
- 16. Shri Manas Chakraborty, Joint Secretary, Irrigation and waterways Department

## 1. Confirmation of the minutes of the first meeting of the State Wetlands Authority

The minutes of the first meeting of the State Wetlands Authority held on 29th November, 2017 were confirmed.

## 2. Sewage inflow into the East Kolkata Wetlands (EKW)

Member Secretary of the Authority informed that the issue was taken up with the National Wetlands Committee and the Committee opined that the sewage inflow to the EKW cannot be stopped as it is the uniqueness of the wetland.

## 3. Disposal of solid waste in Dhapa

Chief Secretary informed that Urban Development Department and Kolkata Municipal Corporation are in the process of reclaiming the existing dumpsite of Dhapa and Mollar Bheri by means of biomining. Solid waste cannot be dumped in the EKW. Urban Development Department and Kolkata Municipal Corporation will inform this Authority how to reuse the materials released from the biomining and reclaim the landfill site.

## 4. Construction activities in the EKW including provision for public works

The Authority decided that the Environment Department would develop norms for constructional activities within the EKW and the norms should be in strictly in accordance with Acts and Rules.

## 5. Notification of identified wetlands

Principal Secretary, Environment Department informed that 19 wetlands had been identified in the State of west Bengal which are having area >500 ha and have been categorised as inland natural lakes or cut off meanders as per National Wetland Atlas. An exercise of preparing the land details of these wetlands will be

- Member – Expert Member
- Expert Member
- Expert Member
- -Member

- Member

- Member

- Member

immediately taken up in consultation with L & LR Deptt. and Fisheries Deptt, so that these can be notified under National Wetland Rules, 2017.

Shri Ravi Kant Sinha, Chief Wildlife Warden, West Bengal informed the Authority that three important wetlands namely Narathali lake in Alipurduar, Rasik Beel in Cooch Behar and Ahiron Beel in Mushidabad are managed by Wildlife wing of Forest department. The Authority unanimously decided to notify these wetlands following the due process.

## 6. Periodically analyze the heavy metal content present in fishes and vegetables grown to EKW

Principal Secretary, Environment Department informed the Authority that heavy metals from different parts of fishes collected from EKW and vegetables from Dhapa area are being analysed by IESWM. The project will be completed by March, 2020. Traces of heavy metals were found in the first interim report. It was decided in the meeting the Fisheries, Agriculture and Horticulture departments would strictly monitor the issue and would promote the organic farming in the EKW area.

# 7. Reconstitution of Technical Committee and Grievance Committee

The Authority approved the newly constituted Technical Committee and Grievance Committee as below:

# **Technical Committee:-**

Chairman, West Bengal Pollution Control Board Chief Environment Officer, Environment Department Member Secretary, West Bengal Biodiversity Board Director of Fisheries, Fisheries Department Director of Agricultural, Agricultural Department

- Chairman
- Member Secretary
- Member
- Member
- Member

All the expert members of SWA would be Special Invitees

#### **Grievance Committee:-**

Special Secretary/Joint Secretary, Environment Department Environment Engineer, Public Grievance Cell, WBPCB Senior Law Officer/ Law Officer, Environment Department Environment Officer, Department of Environment

- Chairperson
- Member
- Member
- Member Secretary

The meeting ended with vote of thanks to and from the chair.

sammenke. Haliabata

(Prof. (Dr.) Soumen Kumar Mahapatra) Chairman, State Wetlands Authority & Minister-in-Charge, Environment Department